Back to Faculty

Jeanne Drisko, MD

Jeanne Drisko, MD

Jeanne Drisko, MD is the endowed Riordan Professor of Orthomolecular Medicine and has been director of the University of Kansas Medical Center KU Integrative Medicine since 1998. Dr Drisko conducts integrative medicine research at the University including trials investigating efficacy and safety of intravenous ascorbate in cancer and infectious disease, among other projects. She was awarded the 2006 K-INBRE research award at the Medical Center.

KU Integrative Medicine has a robust clinic with patient care at the top of priorities with biologic investigation serving to guide individualized patient approaches to health and wellness.

Dr Drisko educates around the topic of integrative medicine and nutrition through didactic course work, elective rotations, and shadowing experiences. A fellowship program in integrative medicine for primary care physicians began in 2008 under Dr Drisko’s leadership. She was nominated by the University of Kansas Medical Student Assembly to receive the Rainbow Award for Excellence in Teaching the Art of Medicine.

Dr Drisko serves KUMC School of Medicine by sitting on multiple committees, provides guidance for the State of Kansas on topics in integrative medicine, and participates at the national level on integrative initiatives. Dr Drisko is a member of the Kansas Cancer Research Institute and an advisory board member of the General Clinical Research Center at the University. She served on an Institute of Medicine committee with a published report on complementary and alternative medicine use in the United States. KU Integrative Medicine is a member of the Consortium of Academic Health Centers for Integrative Medicine, a prestigious group of top academic integrative medicine programs where Dr Drisko serves on the steering committee. Dr Drisko has been an advisor to the National Education Dialogue for integrative therapies and served on an expert panel for integrative medicine integration by the RAND Corporation. Dr Drisko is a past-president of the American College for Advancement in Medicine, the oldest integrative medicine physician member organization.